The Biographical Intuition of Being

“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift. We will not solve the problems of the world from the same level of thinking we were at when we created them. More than anything else, this new century demands new thinking: We must change our materially based analyses of the world around us to include broader, more multidimensional perspectives.” Albert Einstein 

480987_449566141779329_1424564978_n

I am working within the lexicon of blending a lifetime of holistic health knowledge with an intuitive capability. This may sound esoteric and interesting for many people who aspire to perhaps work in a more alternative or holistic way. However, for me I actually tried my very best to escape falling into the ‘intuitive’ categorization. I am sure it did not help having a father who was an academic, in addition to his lack of support in relation to my innate interest of all things holistic and spiritual. Although, despite this fact I still pursued all of my interests with full force and integrity; to fully embody what is most ubiquitousness to who I am today.

 Its one thing to be a holistic health practitioner, like the majority, who focus almost exclusively on the physical body. However, to find yourself implementing an intuitive approach in combination, brings your practice to a whole new level of inquiry, suspicion, and classification. The reality is that there was never a time that I was not intuitive, it has been a reality throughout my entire life, yet it was also something that I shared with very few people outside of my close friends. In addition, my two sisters are also intuitive, with my younger sister being psychic when she was younger. Today, both of my sisters are educated, successful, and homogenized within the frame work of societies ‘norms’, despite their innate intuitive capacity.

 Within the paradigm of ‘holistic’ health modalities, the actual reality is a sterile theoretical system of medicine based on Cartesian dualism, which has infiltrated all systems of holistic medicine that we see being practiced today. Therefore, the physical body is the main point of focus, even those offering a ‘holistic’ approach are almost exclusively working at a physical level. Thus, there has been a segregation between the energetic, emotional, mental, and the physical. Even more interesting is that throughout history, almost all traditional healers spanning numerous cultural ambiances; all utilized some form of intuition, working in a holistic manner, in combination with the theory of their medical medium. In addition, in my training of Traditional Chinese Medicine, I learned very clearly that there were three distinct roots to illness; physical, mental-emotional, and spiritual. Therefore, to be a competent practitioner one must be able to discern which level needs to be addressed, to implement a sense of holistic equilibrium within the patient.

 In my own life, it has taken a long time to overcome the ambivalence around representing myself in a transparent manner, of allowing others to see the strength of my theoretical expertise working in tandem with my intuition. The sense of stigma came from having intellectual parents that encouraged us to be critical thinkers.  In my youth, I had the fortune of living overseas in several countries for six years. During this time, I was able to meet many inspirational, open, and spiritual people who allowed me to trust the spiritual proclivities I had experienced throughout my lifetime. During this time I was very fortunate to study energy medicine,  Yoga (which I started doing as a young girl), and other holistic modalities. This was the first time in my life I could actually be the person I felt myself to be, surrounded by others who knew that this was a reality and accepted. In this time, I went to India each year, four times to study Yoga at the Sivananda Ashram and spent time in North India where I got to meet the Dalai Lama twice, on two separate occasions.

 In essence, in my early 20’s I was living my life as my own authentic self, which would later come crashing down due to chronic health issues from traveling in South East Asia, when I later returned to Canada in 1998 and began a decade of studying numerous ‘proven’ health modalities. This included going back to university as a mature student to get my degree, which I finished in four years with high enough marks and references to do an MA, if I chose that path. After dealing with a chronic health condition I felt disillusioned with who I was as a person, therefore my goal was to become an academic like my father.

 However, during the time I went to University I was still doing a lot of spiritual practice.  When meditating one day, I had a very profound and clear image of myself being able to take someone’s pulse and access information. Of course, at that time I let that profound premonition dissipate and it was not until several years later that suddenly, I remembered. I decided to give it a try, only to find that I was able to access a tremendous amount of information intuitively; all accurate and in-depth.

 For several years I practiced on all of my friends, discovering that the accuracy and profound nature of this work was something so undeniable that I started doing it professionally; something I would have never imagined myself doing as a career. However, after the stigma of being categorize in the psychic realm I decided that merely offering intuitive readings was not the best use of my innate and learned skills. Thus, now I am amalgamating all the knowledge, both theoretical and experiential that I have thus far gained in life, in conjunction with intuition to assist others towards greater health, self empowerment, emotional support, and to assist others in a deeper understanding of crisis or challenging situations.

 It has taken me many years to surrender more and more to the power of what innately fuels me and accept that my life path is a combination of a theoretical holistic approach, paired with a powerful intuition capability. Thus, it has taken me a long time to fully embrace my deepest potential in life and allow myself to practice Holistic Integrative Therapy, which has benefited many friends and clients over the last few years. 

Copyright © All Rights Reserved 2013 

 

 
3 responses

  1. Hi Ameya

    Interesting text. I wanted to write something to make you and everyone else smile, but it may not come out that way in written text. Which one my voices are intuition? 🙂

    • Intuition is more of a feeling than a voice, almost like a sensing of something. It feels much more energetic, like the gut-feeling people get about things. As I have become much clearer over the duration of my life, I find the clarity of awareness towards intuition has also magnified. We all have access to intuition if we are aware of its presence and can get out of our thought processes enough to listen and feel.

Leave a Reply

